Faraday Institute for battery technology launched

UK government Business Secretary has announced the seven universities that will be “leading pioneering research” into the next generation of battery technology such as solid state batteries.

In a statement, the Department for Business said that the seven universities forming the Faraday Battery Institute are: Imperial College London; Newcastle University; University College London; University of Cambridge; University of Oxford; University of Southampton; and the University of Warwick.

The Faraday Institute has been given funding of £65 million from the government Industrial Strategy Challenge Fund which is part of the government’s planned £246 million investment in battery technology through its industrial strategy.

The UK Business Secretary said: “Through the Faraday Research Challenge we are cementing our position as the ‘go-to’ destination for battery technology so we can exploit the global transition to a low carbon economy.”

In a separate statement the Department for Business also said that it will shortly unveil the winners of its new £55m Connected and Autonomous Vehicles (CAV) testing infrastructure competition.

This follows the government opening the £100m CAV test bed competition in April, inviting proposals for how to create a “cluster of excellence” in driverless car testing, along the M40 corridor between Coventry and London.
Subscribe to Newsletter