Michael Kubayanda Chair of Postal Regulatory Commission

Michael Kubayanda has been nominated to be Chair of the US Postal Regulatory Commission by President Biden. He is to succeed current Chair Robert Taub.

“I am grateful for the opportunity to serve as chairman and look forward to serving all Americans, working with my colleagues in the Commission and throughout the Federal government, and connecting with a wide spectrum of stakeholders,” said Chairman Kubayanda. “I would especially like to thank Chairman Taub for his exceptional leadership of the Commission for more than six years. I plan to continue his approach of bipartisanship and collegiality.”

Regarding the appointment, former Chairman Taub said, “A hearty congratulations to Chairman Kubayanda upon his designation. Chairman Kubayanda brings a wealth of experience and an enormous skill set to the role of chair. I know he will lead this agency quite well, and he has a great team to support him. It has been a true honor and privilege to serve as the head of the Commission for more than six years. I am proud of the Commission’s accomplishments during this time, which could not have been achieved without our fantastic agency staff. I know the Commission will continue that excellent work under Chairman Kubayanda’s leadership.”

Mr Kubayanda was nominated to sit on the Postal Regulatory Commission in June 2018 by the last President and is still in his first term as commissioner. He was made Vice-Chair in August 2019 and was in the role until the end of 2020.