Posti – new chairman to be Markku Pohjola

At Posti’s AGM in Helsinki this week, Markku Pohjola was elected as the Chairman of the Board of Directors. Suvi-Anne Siimes was also named as Vice Chairman.

Posti also announced that, following the AGM, the following will continue as members of the Board of Directors:

Petri Järvinen, Global Supply Chain Planning Director, Mölnlycke Health Care, Sweden Petri Kokko, Director, Google Deutschland GmbH Kirsi Nuotto, Senior Vice President, Human Resources, VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland Ltd Marja Pokela, Senior Financial Specialist, Government Ownership Steering Department, Prime Minister’s Office Suvi-Anne Siimes, Managing Director, The Finnish Pension Alliance (TELA) Board Professional Arja Talma The new members of the Board were Pohjola (the new Chairman) and Eero Hautaniemi, President & CEO, Oriola-KD.

Commenting on his appointment, Pohjola said: “It is very interesting and inspiring to come to Posti, which is in a good development stage and offers a wide variety of services and many opportunities for the Finnish consumers and companies also in the future. Posti’s Board of Directors has together with Posti’s employees taken important steps in renewing the company in the transformation of digitalization. Work of the Board of Directors has been in good hands and it’s good to continue this work together with all Posti’s employees.”

Prior to coming to Posti, Pohjola held several management positions at Nordea Bank, as well as its predecessors MeritaNordbanken, Merita and Suomen Yhdyspankki. He has been a Member and a Chairman of many Boards, lately at Tieto. Currently, Pohjola is a Chairman of the Board at Finnvera and Koskitukku and is a Member of the Board at Onvest.

Arto Hiltunen, the current (and outgoing) Chairman of Posti Group’s Board, has been on the Board since 2010, first as the Vice Chairman of the Board and since 2011 as the Chairman of the Board. According to the State’s ownership policy, a Board Member’s term of office in a state-owned company is 5-7 years – hence Hiltunen’s departure now.

Hiltunen commented: “My term of office is now over, thank you for these seven years for everyone. Years as the Chairman of the Board have been rewarding and a lot has happened. Posti has become more a service company and has gone through a thorough transformation, several performance improvement programs, organizational changes, a remarkable cultural change, created a new vision and strategy, changed its name back to Posti from Itella, done many M&As, decreased the number of its own postal outlets and renewed its mail delivery. And this is just to mention a few of them. I wish my successor good luck in his work and the all the best for everyone at Posti, says Arto Hiltunen.”

Following the AGM, Posti also announced that the following will continue as members of the Supervisory Board:

Maria Guzenina, MP, Social Democratic Party Rami Lehto, MP, Finns Party Eeva-Maria Maijala, MP, Centre Party Sari Moisanen, Project Manager, House of Lapland, Left Alliance Mats Nylund, MP, Swedish People’s Party of Finland Juha Pylväs, MP, Centre Party Sari Raassina, MP, National Coalition Party Lulu Ranne, Master of Science (Tech.), Finns Party Markku Rossi, MP, Centre Party Satu Taavitsainen, MP, Social Democratic Party Jani Toivola, MP, The Greens of Finland Kari Tolvanen, MP, Finns Party Markku Rossi was re-elected as the Chairman of the Supervisory Board and Jani Toivola as the Vice Chairman of the Supervisory Board.  
Subscribe to Newsletter